Board of Directors

The LGFA Board comprises independent and non-independent directors, the majority of which are required to be independent directors appointed by shareholders.

The LGFA Board, is responsible for the strategic direction and control of LGFA’s activities. The Board guides and monitors the business and affairs of LGFA, in accordance with:

  • Local Government Act 2002;
  • Local Government Borrowing Act 2011;
  • Companies Act 1993;
  • LGFA’s Constitution;
  • LGFA Shareholder Agreement;
  • LGFA Annual Statement of Intent.

The names, positions, qualifications and experience of LGFA’s directors are set out below:

Craig Stobo

Independent Chair

BA (Hons) Economics. First Class, Otago

Craig has worked as a diplomat, economist, investment banker and Chief Executive Officer of BT Funds Management (NZ) Limited. He has completed the Advanced Management Programme at Wharton Business School in Philadelphia, authored reports to the NZ Government on the Taxation of Investment Income (which led to the PIE regime) and the creation of New Zealand as a funds domicile. He currently chairs the listed companies Precinct Properties New Zealand Limited, AIG Insurance (NZ board) and Fliway Group Limited. He has directorship and private equity interests in financial services and other businesses. He was chair of the Establishment Board and acting Chief Executive of LGFA. He is chair of the Establishment Board of the Local Government Risk Agency.

John Avery

Independent Director

LLB, C.F.Inst.D

John was managing partner, then Chairman of Hesketh Henry. He was a director of The Warehouse Group Limited, Signify Limited, several start up businesses and an industry cooperative “ITM.” He is currently an independent director of Fund Managers Auckland Limited, Regional Facilities Auckland Limited, Spider Tracks Limited and Strategic Pay Limited, and a trustee of the New Zealand School of Dance.   

Philip Cory-Wright

Independent Director

LLB (Hons), BCA Business Management, INFINZ (Cert), C.F.Inst.D

Philip is a solicitor of the High Court of New Zealand and Victoria.  He has worked as a corporate finance adviser in New Zealand to the corporate sector on debt and equity matters for more than 25 years.  He is currently a director of South Port New Zealand Limited, Papa Rererangi i Puketapu (New Plymouth Airport) and Matariki Forests Limited and strategic adviser to clients in the energy and infrastructure sectors.  He was a member of the Local Government Infrastructure Expert Advisory Group tasked with advising the Minister of Local Government on improvements in local government infrastructure efficiency.

Anthony Quirk

Independent Director

BCA (Hons) First Class, INFINZ (Fellow), C.M.Inst.D

Anthony is a professional Director with over 31 years’ senior executive experience in the investment and financial services industry.  He is currently the Chairman of New Zealand Water Polo and Deputy Chairman of Compass Housing NZ. He is also a shareholder and a Non-Executive Director of Milford Asset Management and is on the Board of Evolve Education Group and the Graeme Dingle Foundation, Wellington.  Anthony is a Fellow of the Institute of Finance Professionals New Zealand (INFINZ) and is a former Chairman of that organisation. He is a member of the Institute of Directors. He was previously Chair of the Asset Management Advisory Board of the New Zealand Exchange, Deputy Chair and Board member of the New Zealand Society of Investment Analysts and a previous member of the Financial Reporting Standards Board of the New Zealand Society of Accountants.

Linda Robertson

Independent Director

B.Com, Dip Banking, INFINZ (Fellow), C.F.Inst.D, GAICD

Linda is a professional Director with over 30 years' experience in executive finance roles, having worked in the banking and energy sector in New Zealand. She is currently a director of Auckland Council Investments Limited, Dunedin City Holdings Limited, Dunedin City Treasury Limited, NZ Registry Services Limited, NZPM Group Limited, Crown Irrigation Investments Limited and King Country Energy Limited. Linda is also a member of the Audit & Risk Committee for the Ministry of Social Development, a member of the Treasury Advisory Committee of the New Zealand Export Credit Office and Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee for Central Otago District Council. Her previous directorship roles include New Zealand Post Limited, Kiwibank Limited, the Earthquake Commission, Catalyst Risk Management Limited and Speirs Group Limited.

Michael Timmer


CA, BBS, BAgrSci, INFINZ (Cert), M.Inst.

Mike has worked for Citibank in its financial market section and held accountancy and treasury roles in the Health Sector and is presently Treasurer at the Greater Wellington Regional Council. He is Chairman of the Finance Committee of Physiotherapy New Zealand Incoporated and past Deputy Chair of the LGFA Shareholder Council.